With its combination of social, educational and scientific goals, EU-UNAWE is a unique programme.

Professor George Miley from Leiden University, the Netherlands, and Chairman of EU-UNAWE

Universe Awareness has been endorsed by the following individuals:

  • Prof. Catherine Cesarsky: Former President of the International Astronomical Union (2006 - 2009)
  • Prof. Robert Williams: President of the International Astronomical Union (2009 - 2012)
  • Prof. Ron Ekers: Former President of the International Astronomical Union (2003 - 2006)
  • Sir Bob Geldof: Musician, philanthropist and activist
  • Prof. Riccardo Giacconi: 2002 Nobel Prize winner
  • Prof. Federico Mayor Zaragoza: President of the Foundation for a Culture of Peace
  • Prof. Michel Mayor: Discoverer of exoplanets
  • Dr. Khotso Mokhele: First President of the South African National Research Foundation (1999 - 2006)
  • Sir Martin Rees: Former President of the UK's Royal Society
  • Prof. Joseph Taylor: 1993 Nobel Prize winner
  • Prof. Charles Townes: 1964 Nobel Prize winner
  • Daoud Hari, author of The Translator

The following organisations have endorsed Universe Awareness

  • ASTRON: Netherlands Foundation for Research in Astronomy
  • IUPAP: International Union of Pure and Appllied Physics
  • KNAW: Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • LDI: Learning Development Institute
  • LOFAR: The LOFAR Foundation, The Netherlands
  • NOVA: The Netherlands Research School in Astronomy
  • SRON: Netherlands Institute for Space Research
  • UNOSAT, United Nations Institute for Training and Research Operational Satellite Applications Programme
  • CERN, Switzerland
  • Zentrum für Astronomie of Universität Heidelberg, Germany